All Posts By

Fiona Denton

Fiona Denton

Fiona Denton

Fiona is a former secondary school teacher and current stay at home parent to two very wild and active children. She lives with them and her husband in the UK and can often be found on a beach paddling in the North Sea or stomping through a forest with the sprogs and hounds. She loves to read and has always enjoyed fantasy novels, particularly the very dark and twisty ones with mythical creatures.

REVIEW: Navola by Paolo Bacigalupi

Navola is the latest adult fantasy from award-winning author Paolo Bacigalupi. An ambitious and richly detailed story, Navola is the coming-of-age tale of Davico, the heir to one of the most powerful families in...

REVIEW: The Hidden Queen by Peter V. Brett

The Hidden Queen by Peter V. Brett The Hidden Queen is the second instalment in Peter V. Brett’s epic fantasy series, The Nightfall Saga, was released in March 2024. I picked up The Hidden...

REVIEW: Dreams of Sorrow by Shauna Lawless

Dreams of Sorrow is the second novella from author Shauna Lawless. Set in her Gael Song world, it is a powerful piece of short fiction and will be hugely enjoyed by fans of her...

REVIEW: The Desert Prince by Peter V. Brett

The Desert Prince by Peter V. Brett is the first novel in his Nightfall Saga. There are a lot of fans of Peter V. Brett in the halls of Grimdark Magazine, and he has...

REVIEW: The Dark Feather by Anna Stephens

The Dark Feather by Anna Stephens is the epic third and final book in her The Songs of the Drowned trilogy. Fans of Stephens are also likely to know her writing from the Godblind...

REVIEW: A Botanical Daughter by Noah Medlock

A Botanical Daughter is the debut horror novel from writer Noah Medlock. A sort of cosy horror, I think Medlock’s tale will appeal to fans of T. Kingfisher and A.G. Slatter. I will say,...

REVIEW: Dreams of Fire by Shauna Lawless

Shauna Lawless already sits pretty high on my auto-buy author list based on her first two novels, The Children of Gods and Fighting Men and The Words of Kings and Prophets. So I was extremely excited to...

REVIEW: To Cage a God by Elizabeth May

To Cage a God is the latest adult fantasy offering from Sunday Times bestselling author Elizabeth May. It is a Slavic inspired fantasy steeped with gods, magic, and some romance. It has some dark...

REVIEW: What Feasts at Night by T. Kingfisher

What Feasts at Night is the latest folk horror offering from the reigning Queen of creepy novellas, the one and only T. Kingfisher. What Feasts at Night is the second story in Kingfisher’s Sworn Soldier world and reunites us...

REVIEW: The Briar Book of the Dead by A.G. Slatter

The Briar Book of the Dead is the latest novel from World Fantasy Award-winning author A.G. Slatter. Set in the same world as her earlier novels All the Murmuring Bones and The Path of Thorns, The Briar Book of...

Get a free magazine

Join our mailing list for a free issue, the latest book releases, and grimdark discussions.