All Posts By

Rai Furniss-Greasley

  • Home
  • Rai Furniss-Greasley
Rai Furniss-Greasley

Rai Furniss-Greasley

Rai is an avid SFF fan, with a leaning towards the darker stuff, and has been ever since they were a little kid. Rai lives with their partner and two cats, Noomi and Scout. They work in IT and are also a post-grad researcher into non-binary experiences. Besides reading, Rai enjoys walking, gardening, TV & films, and gaming, where they are a co-host of The Offline Gamer. Rai posts reviews and other bookish content on their site, https://aspectsof.me , where you can also find some of their own fiction writing.

REVIEW: Those Left Behind by N.C. Scrimgeour

N.C. Scrimgeour’s debut series, The Waystations Trilogy, is billed as ‘perfect for fans of Mass Effect, The Expanse and Star Wars’ and the first instalment, Those Left Behind is an excellent introduction to this...

REVIEW: Camp Damascus by Chuck Tingle

Camp Damascus did not begin where I expected it to. The title and blurb suggest it might be set in a conversion camp that is hiding even more than the usual. On the contrary,...

REVIEW: Fractal Noise by Christopher Paolini

Fractal Noise is the second book within Christopher Paolini’s Fractalverse, serving as a prequel to 2020’s To Sleep in a Sea of Stars. You don’t need to have read the first book to understand...

REVIEW: Piñata by Leopoldo Gout

Multi-faceted, creative powerhouse Leopoldo Gout’s latest novel Piñata is a visceral possession story that brings together supernatural and real life horrors with a keen look at the brutal legacy of colonial violence that persists...

REVIEW: A Shade of Madness by Thiago Adballa

A Shade of Madness follows on where successful debut A Touch of Light left off and dives straight back into a world in increasing peril. Thiago Abdalla continues to demonstrate excellent worldbuilding and the...

REVIEW: Death Rider by Zamil Akhtar

Death Rider is a prequel novella for the Gunmetal Gods series by Zamil Akhtar, which is a Middle Eastern inspired grimdark fantasy with heavy eldritch overtones. We see the world from Darya’s point of...

REVIEW: The Warrior by Stephen Aryan

The great triumph of Stephen Aryan’s The Coward (Quest for Heroes, #1) was in exploring the idea that heroes don’t exist, but that ordinary people can commit heroic deeds. The Warrior continues in this...

Grim Games from UK Games Expo 2022

Board and tabletop gaming has seen a rise in popularity over the past ten years or so, with more people coming into the hobby and greater numbers of projects finding their way to the...

REVIEW: Black Tide by K.C. Jones

Black Tide is the debut novel from K.C. Jones that brings together the “human car wreck” of Beth, and Mike, a depressed movie producer, at the end of the world. This is a small-scale,...

REVIEW: Dreams of the Dying by Nicolas Lietzau

Dreams of the Dying is the first novel from Nicolas Lietzau and it is a whirlwind of nightmares, death and desperation. The book tackles some difficult themes, bring us the grey morality that is...