NEWS: World of Darkness Reprints

Last Updated on January 24, 2024

White Wolf Publishing was the darling of the Goth and counterculture gaming scene from 1991 to 2004 when they were publishing the World of Darkness universe based around such hit titles as Vampire: The Masquerade as well as Werewolf: The Apocalypse. Like many tabletop game companies, they also released tie-in novels to further explore the characters and world.

Dark AgesThe tie-in novels started with Dark Prince by Keither Herber and ended with the Time of Judgement novels that brought an official end to the campaign setting before its reboot (and later revival with Vampire: The Masquerade 5th Edition). Over a hundred novels were published during this time and, until recently, all of them have been out of print.

In 2019, a deal was reached with Crossroad Press and Paradox Interactive (current holder of the IP) to re-release the Clan Novels, Dark Age Clan Novels, and Grail Covenant Trilogy–a collection of twenty-nine novels that were some of the most popular books written for the franchise. While they had previously been available in PDF form on DriveThru RPG and other sites, it was mostly scans of the pages versus actual searchable documents or things you could load on your e-reader. Now they are available in a new paperback edition and readable on your Kindle or Nook.

Crossroad Press and Paradox Interactive have recently struck a deal to reprint and re-release the remaining novels in both ebook and new paperback format. There’s even (as yet unconfirmed) reports that they are in negotiations for audiobook releases of the series. Furthermore, in addition to the World of Darkness novels, they will also be releasing the novels set in the Exalted setting.

Crossroad Press is a mid-tier press most famous for releasing the audiobook versions of Clive Barker and Brian Lumley’s work. They were also publisher of the Stargate SG-1 tie-in novels.

Share this
CT Phipps

CT Phipps

C.T Phipps is a lifelong student of horror, science fiction, and fantasy. An avid tabletop gamer, he discovered this passion led him to write and turned him into a lifelong geek. He's the author of Agent G, Cthulhu Armageddon, Lucifer's Star, Straight Outta Fangton, and The Supervillainy Saga. He is also a frequent contributor to Grimdark Magazine.

Get a free magazine

Join our mailing list for a free issue, the latest book releases, and grimdark discussions.