REVIEW: Slave Ring by Tim Dedopulos

Warning – This review of the novel about vampires and slavery will touch on slavery and sexual assault. Slave Ring by Tim Dedopulos is the first book of the Clan...
Read More
REVIEW: Slave Ring by Tim Dedopulos

REVIEW: Deathworlder by Victoria Hayward

A stand-alone novel set in the Warhammer 40,000 universe, Deathworlder by Victoria Hayward is everything you want from a 40k universe novel. It's war on an epic scale, the odds are...
Read More
REVIEW: Deathworlder by Victoria Hayward

REVIEW: Daughter of Calamity by Rosalie M. Lin

Rosalie M. Lin’s debut, Daughter of Calamity is set in the glittering world of Shanghai in the 1920s. A cultural melting pot thanks to the influence of colonialism, the Jazz...
Read More
REVIEW: Daughter of Calamity by Rosalie M. Lin

REVIEW: Monstrum by Lottie Mills

Lottie Mills’ debut collection Monstrum is mind blowing. As the title hints, these stories explore what is monstrous, why we perceive someone as other. The collection is an open letter...
Read More
REVIEW: Monstrum by Lottie Mills

REVIEW: When the Blood Has Dried #3 by Gary Moloney (W) and Daniel Romero (A)

If the first two issues of When the Blood Has Dried were setting up the initial plot of the story, issue 3 is where things start to really escalate. Maebh,...
Read More
REVIEW: When the Blood Has Dried #3 by Gary Moloney (W) and Daniel Romero (A)

REVIEW: Shadows of Pnath by Josh Reynolds

Shadows of Pnath is the second of the Countess Zorzi novels in the Arkham Horror series. The Arkham Horror series is pretty much what I wish Call of Cthulhu had...
Read More
REVIEW: Shadows of Pnath by Josh Reynolds

REVIEW: The Tigress by Anna Mocikat

The Tigress by Anna Mocikat is the sixth book of the Behind Blue Eyes series. The series is a successful indie cyberpunk drama that follows the tales of a murderous...
Read More
REVIEW: The Tigress by Anna Mocikat

The Road to Redemption by Matthew Ward

More than anything, I love a character with a redemption arc. I’m not picky. I’ll work on any scale. From Londo Mollari’s galaxy-shaping reversals in Babylon 5 to Javert’s blink-and-you’ll-miss-it...
Read More
The Road to Redemption by Matthew Ward

REVIEW: Tears of Raphaela by Richard Swan

In Tears of Raphaela by Richard Swan, a new Warhammer 40,000 short story from Black Library, Brother Ramethos of the Lamenters space marine chapter hunts the last Tyranid Prime across the...
Read More
REVIEW: Tears of Raphaela by Richard Swan

REVIEW: The Fire Within Them by Matthew Ward

In The Fire Within Them by Matthew Ward, Kat's story of survival, rebellion, and love and loss that I enjoyed so much in The Darkness Before Them continues. These main...
Read More
REVIEW: The Fire Within Them by Matthew Ward
REVIEW: Slave Ring by Tim Dedopulos REVIEW: Slave Ring by Tim Dedopulos
REVIEW: Deathworlder by Victoria Hayward REVIEW: Deathworlder by Victoria Hayward
REVIEW: Daughter of Calamity by Rosalie M. Lin REVIEW: Daughter of Calamity by Rosalie...
REVIEW: Monstrum by Lottie Mills REVIEW: Monstrum by Lottie Mills
REVIEW: When the Blood Has Dried #3 by Gary Moloney (W) and Daniel Romero (A) REVIEW: When the Blood Has Dried...
REVIEW: Shadows of Pnath by Josh Reynolds REVIEW: Shadows of Pnath by Josh...
REVIEW: The Tigress by Anna Mocikat REVIEW: The Tigress by Anna Mocikat
The Road to Redemption by Matthew Ward The Road to Redemption by Matthew...
REVIEW: Tears of Raphaela by Richard Swan REVIEW: Tears of Raphaela by Richard...
REVIEW: The Fire Within Them by Matthew Ward REVIEW: The Fire Within Them by...

REVIEW: Anansi Boys by Neil Gaiman

I stumbled upon a signed, limited-edition copy of Anansi Boys by Neil Gaiman during lunch at a café/used bookstore a few months ago. I wish I could say I found the book, but I...

REVIEW: A Botanical Daughter by Noah Medlock

A Botanical Daughter is the debut horror novel from writer Noah Medlock. A sort of cosy horror, I think Medlock’s tale will appeal to fans of T. Kingfisher and A.G. Slatter. I will say,...

REVIEW: Conan the Barbarian #10 by Jim Zub (W) and Roberto De La Torre (A)

After inexplicably and violently turning on his most loyal companion Brule (Conan the Barbarian issue #9), a prophetic dream returns King Kull to his senses. He rescinds the death sentences placed on Brule and...

REVIEW: Trial of the Alchemist by Trevor Melanson

Trial of the Alchemist is Trevor Melanson’s dark murder mystery set in a gaslamp fantasy world drenched in alchemy. The novel opens in a packed courtroom, with Alchemist Ortez on trial for murder. Ortez...

REVIEW: The Fall Is All There Is by C.M. Caplan

C.M. Caplan’s frenetic grimdark novel, The Fall Is All There Is, blends fantasy and science fiction in a brutal post-apocalyptic world dripping with familial drama. The first-person protagonist, Petre, is the youngest among quadruplets,...

REVIEW: My Throat An Open Grave by Tori Bovalino

My Throat An Open Grave is Tori Bovalino’s third YA horror novel. After taking us through dark academia and the Goblin Market, this looks at the ideas behind changelings. Leah’s little brother has been...

DISCUSSION: Fallout 76 – Six Years Later

Fallout 76 is a game that both frustrates me as well as invites me in. Six years ago, I was one of the early adopters of the video game and it was one of...

REVIEW: Soul Cage by L.R. Schulz

Soul Cage imagines a world where magic is powered by souls and transmitted through death. This new dark fantasy by Australian indie author L.R. Schulz is equal parts exciting and thought-provoking. Soul Cage is...

REVIEW: Shogun

There were high hopes for Shogun as the limited series landed on Disney+. Based on James Clavell’s novels set in 17th Century Japan, people were already comparing it to Game of Thrones with the...

REVIEW: Age of the Dryad by Jacob Sannox

Nature won the war. Dryads, spirit protectors of the forests, have defeated mankind. Their King Dark Oak now reigns across The Old Continent, but his victory over Queen Cathryn only intensifies his need to...

Get grit in your inbox

Stay on top of all the latest book releases and discussions—join our mailing list.