Browsing Tags

Dark sci fi

REVIEW: Behind Blue Eyes: Last Stand by Anna Mocikat

Behind Blue Eyes is a fantastic cyberpunk series that remains one of the best indie experiences I’ve had the pleasure of finding. Kindle Unlimited is a feast or a famine with nine terrible books...

REVIEW: Those Left Behind by N.C. Scrimgeour

N.C. Scrimgeour’s debut series, The Waystations Trilogy, is billed as ‘perfect for fans of Mass Effect, The Expanse and Star Wars’ and the first instalment, Those Left Behind is an excellent introduction to this...

REVIEW: Auxiliary: London 2039 by Jon Richter

Auxiliary: London 2039 is a dark, seedy, and depressing story about a cyberpunk future as well as a broken/damaged detective investigating a murder. The thing is that I’m not actually complaining about these things....

Arvekt by Craig Lea Gordon

REVIEW: Arvekt by Craig Lea Gordon

Arvekt by Craig Lea Gordon is a kinetic action-filled cyberpunk thriller that I absolutely love. If anyone knows anything about me, they’ll know that I am a huge fan of the cyberpunk genre. It...

REVIEW: The Memory Librarian by Janelle Monáe

Janelle Monáe is widely acclaimed as a singer/songwriter, film star, fashion icon, and social activist. Her list of awards has its own Wikipedia page, with 137 nominations and 48 wins at the time of...

REVIEW: In a Hotel Room in Chillicothe by Joshua Shuh

In a Hotel Room in Chillicothe, the self-published debut novel from Joshua Shuh, takes the reader on a chilling thrill ride of psychological manipulation and horror. As the book opens, seven strangers find themselves...

REVIEW: The Weeping Sigil by Jordan Loyal Short

The Weeping Sigil by Jordan Loyal Short is the sequel to The Skald’s Black Verse. We here at Grimdark Magazine reviewed the first book in the series and thought it was one of the...

Discussing 36 Streets, cyberpunk, and D&D with T.R. Napper

Many of our followers will know T.R. Napper from our publication of his brilliant short story collection, Neon Leviathan. On Jan 18 in Australia, and Feb 8 for the rest of the world, Titan...

REVIEW: Judge Dredd: The Complete Case Files Volume 1

Judge Dredd: The Complete Case Files Volume 1 is the first installment of the adventures of comic books ultimate lawman. The satirical British comic debuted in the late Seventies and has been continuing in...

REVIEW: Shadow City by Anna Mocikat

Shadow City by Anna Mocikat is first volume of her Tales of the Shadow City chronicles that is a genre busting post-apocalypse adventure story. I can’t really think of any other novels like it...