Browsing Tags

first contact

REVIEW: Those Left Behind by N.C. Scrimgeour

N.C. Scrimgeour’s debut series, The Waystations Trilogy, is billed as ‘perfect for fans of Mass Effect, The Expanse and Star Wars’ and the first instalment, Those Left Behind is an excellent introduction to this...

REVIEW: Fractal Noise by Christopher Paolini

Fractal Noise is the second book within Christopher Paolini’s Fractalverse, serving as a prequel to 2020’s To Sleep in a Sea of Stars. You don’t need to have read the first book to understand...

REVIEW: Roadside Picnic by Arkady and Boris Strugatsky

Brothers Arkady and Boris Strugatsky came up with the idea of Roadside Picnic in Komorovo, a Russian town about an hour from St. Petersburg, in 1970. The brothers wrote the story in 1971, and...

REVIEW: A Desolation Called Peace by Arkady Martine

A Desolation Called Peace, Arkady Martine’s next installment in the Teixcalaan following her Hugo award-winning novel A Memory Called Empire is just as culturally rich and profound as A Memory Called Empire was. Still, instead of focusing the...