Browsing Tags

historical fiction

  • Home
  • historical fiction

REVIEW: A Botanical Daughter by Noah Medlock

A Botanical Daughter is the debut horror novel from writer Noah Medlock. A sort of cosy horror, I think Medlock’s tale will appeal to fans of T. Kingfisher and A.G. Slatter. I will say,...

An Interview with Matthew Harffy

Matthew Harffy is an author who has transported readers to vivdi historical landscapes since The Serpent Sword in 2015. His action packed and historically accurate novels excite readers around the world and his latest...

REVIEW: The Words of Kings and Prophets by Shauna Lawless.

Irish author Shauna Lawless returns to her Gael Song series with The Words of Kings and Prophets. This fantasy novel from Ad Astra, the Science Fiction and Fantasy imprint of Head of Zeus, is the perfect blend...

REVIEW: A Day of Reckoning by Matthew Harffy

A Day of Reckoning is the third volume in the A Time for Swords series and continues the tale of Hunlaf – once a peaceful, naïve monk and now a true warrior. Familiar characters...

REVIEW: Vampires of El Norte by Isabel Cañas

Vampires of El Norte is the second horror novel by Isabel Cañas following her highly regarded debut, The Hacienda. As with her first novel, Vampires of El Norte combines elements of horror, romance, and...

REVIEW: Perilous Times by Thomas D Lee

Perilous Times is Thomas D Lee’s debut novel. It is a wickedly funny Arthurian inspired satirical fantasy novel, set in a contemporary world. In it, and the idea where the title derives from, the knights...

REVIEW: Battle Song by Ian Ross

 England is on the brink of civil war in the 13th century as Simon de Montford and the barons of the realm challenge the power of Henry III. Caught between the battle for reform...

REVIEW: The Last Kingdom: Seven Kings Must Die

The tale of Uhtred of Bebbanburg as told through the brilliant five seasons available on Netflix comes to an end in a feature length production – The Last Kingdom: Seven Kings Must Die. The...

REVIEW: The Judas Blossom by Stephen Aryan

The Judas Blossom is an ambitious, majestic and brutal historical fantasy read that impresses throughout. The novel skilfully covers an era, areas, and cultures that are not typical with fantasy novels or historical retellings....

Review: Forest of Foes by Matthew Harffy

The ninth book of The Bernicia Chronicles continues the adventures of Beobrand as readers are transported back to Frankia in AD 652. Beobrand has been ordered to lead a group of pilgrims to the...

Get grit in your inbox

Stay on top of all the latest book releases and discussions—join our mailing list.