Browsing Tags

horror

REVIEW: A Look Behind the Derleth Mythos by John D. Haefele

A Look Behind the Derleth Mythos: Origins of the Cthulhu Mythos by John D. Haefele is a nonfiction book discussing the role of August Derleth in the creation of HPL’s modern mythology. More precisely, it...

REVIEW: The Deviant #5 by James Tynion (W) and Joshua Hixson (A)

A good way to lead your comic reading life is to run, not walk, to the nearest comic book store when a new series or issue written by James Tynion IV is released.  The...

REVIEW: Devils Kill Devils by Johnny Compton

Devils Kill Devils is Johnny Compton’s sophomore horror novel, a southern Gothic brimming with vampirism and religious occultism. I thoroughly enjoyed Compton’s debut novel, The Spite House, and waited in eager anticipation to see...

REVIEW: Dagon

There’s something to be said for B-movie horror, even if it’s often designed to gross you out, titillate, and kill people (sadly most often women) in gruesome fashions. I’m not sure that something is...

REVIEW: A Botanical Daughter by Noah Medlock

A Botanical Daughter is the debut horror novel from writer Noah Medlock. A sort of cosy horror, I think Medlock’s tale will appeal to fans of T. Kingfisher and A.G. Slatter. I will say,...

REVIEW: My Throat An Open Grave by Tori Bovalino

My Throat An Open Grave is Tori Bovalino’s third YA horror novel. After taking us through dark academia and the Goblin Market, this looks at the ideas behind changelings. Leah’s little brother has been...

REVIEW: The Troop by Nick Cutter

Fight, flight, freeze, and fawn are natural human responses to threats. The possibility of outrunning the bogeyman, fighting off the rapid animal, or seeking shelter during a tornado; all these defenses mean hope. The...

REVIEW: The Butcher of the Forest by Premee Mohamed

Veris Thorn has seen death. She had survived the war and the tyranny that never ended. As a woman nearing forty, she knows suffering. It is why she cherishes her remaining family and keeps...

REVIEW: The Angel of Indian Lake by Stephen Graham Jones

Four years have passed since the events of Don’t Fear the Reaper, the second volume in Stephen Graham Jones’ Indian Lake Trilogy. As The Angel of Indian Lake opens, Halloween is coming to Proofrock,...

REVIEW: Diavola by Jennifer Thorne

Jennifer Thorne brings supernatural terror to an already dysfunctional family vacation in Diavola, which follows the Pace family on their ill-fated Italian holiday. Although the family’s surname translates to “peace” in Italian, they are...

Get grit in your inbox

Stay on top of all the latest book releases and discussions—join our mailing list.