Browsing Tags

LGBTQ

REVIEW: Ninth Life by Stark Holborn

Gabriella Ortiz has worn and shed many names. Tales of her exploits transcend time and space, defying reality. Depending on which name, she is a hero of both sides. A felon with a bounty...

REVIEW: Running Close to the Wind by Alexandra Rowland

Alexandra Rowland delivers chaotic queer pirates with insanely high sex-drives, mystifying turtle astronomy, dangerous sea serpents in breeding season, loveable glowing dogs, and an absurd cake competition in Running Close to the Wind, an...

An Interview with Laura Purcell

Laura Purcell has made a name for herself in gothic fiction. I particularly enjoyed The Whispering Muse, a story set around a theatre where the plays come to life more than merely on stage....

REVIEW: A Botanical Daughter by Noah Medlock

A Botanical Daughter is the debut horror novel from writer Noah Medlock. A sort of cosy horror, I think Medlock’s tale will appeal to fans of T. Kingfisher and A.G. Slatter. I will say,...

REVIEW: Redsight by Meredith Mooring

All Korinna wants to do is stay alive. And live in peace. But she’s a Redseer, a blind priestess with the power to manipulate space and time. In the hostile world of Meredith Mooring’s...

The Principle of Moments

REVIEW: The Principle of Moments by Esmie Jikiemi-Pearson

The Principle of Moments, the exuberant debut novel by Esmie Jikiemi-Pearson, is a time-traveling space opera and a homage to Regency-era romances. Esmie Jikiemi-Pearson fully embraces the Chosen One trope, using it to great...

8 new and upcoming SFF and horror releases for grimdark fans to celebrate Pride Month 2023

In June, we celebrate and commemorate the Pride movement – recognising the LGBTQ+ movement and celebrating its culture. Throughout this month, we have been sharing some of our favourite queer reads on the GdM...

REVIEW: Sister, Maiden, Monster by Lucy A. Snyder

Visceral, gory, and deliciously unhinged, Sister, Maiden, Monster is a fast-paced, disturbingly relatable pandemic horror that I absolutely devoured and never wanted to end. Centering around the deadly—and thankfully fictional—PVG virus (polymorphic viral gastroencephalitis),...

REVIEW: To Shape a Dragon’s Breath by Moniquill Blackgoose

In a grim world damaged by dragon wars, colonization, and industrialization, To Shape a Dragon’s Breath follows the story of a young Indigenous girl who becomes the hope of her people. Instead of Dragon...

REVIEW: Carmilla by J. Sheridan Le Fanu

Carmilla by J. Sheridan Le Fanu is the one of the first great works of vampire fiction, published in 1872, about a quarter century before Bram Stoker’s Dracula. Like the undead titular character, Carmilla...

Get a free magazine

Join our mailing list for a free issue, the latest book releases, and grimdark discussions.