Browsing Tags

lgbtqai+

REVIEW: A Botanical Daughter by Noah Medlock

A Botanical Daughter is the debut horror novel from writer Noah Medlock. A sort of cosy horror, I think Medlock’s tale will appeal to fans of T. Kingfisher and A.G. Slatter. I will say,...

REVIEW: The Thick and the Lean by Chana Porter

Chana Porter’s The Thick and the Lean is one of those rare stories that continue living in your brain rent-free long after the last page. This is slow, delicious literary SFF, a story about...

An Interview with Lee Mandelo

Lee Mandelo is the author of Summer Sons, Feed Them Silence and the upcoming The Woods All Black. His work ranges across genres in speculative fiction and THE WOODS ALL BLACK especially skews to...

REVIEW: The Woods All Black by Lee Mandelo

I fell in love with Lee Mandelo’s writing when I read his debut, Summer Sons. Now he’s back with queer, atmospheric The Woods All Black. This is a slim novella, but it doesn’t hold...

REVIEW: The Shadow Gate by L.L. MacRae

The Shadow Gate is Book Two in the Dragon Spirits series by L.L. MacRae, following up on her excellent first volume, The Iron Crown, which was a finalist in Mark Lawrence’s 7th Self-Published Fantasy...

Review: The First Bright Thing by J.R. Dawson

A magical circus is traveling to an empty lot in the middle of a prairie in Iowa, where the prairie feels like literal magic next to rousing magicians. A freckled middle-aged woman wearing a...

REVIEW: The Warden by Daniel M. Ford

Daniel M. Ford’s The Warden instills a warm atmosphere into a world full of grit, mystery, and necromancy. The novel embodies very familiar classic fantasy elements, but Ford’s unique twists turn them into something...

REVIEW: Bluebird by Ciel Pierlot

Bluebird by Ciel Pierlot is an incredibly fun queer science fiction adventure captivating readers from the first to the last page. How could it be any different with a tagline like “Lesbian Gunslingers in...

LGBTQIA+ Dark SFF Characters: Where To Start Reading

The world has changed to be more inclusive, and SFF has often led the way by taking us into worlds and people that push our comfort zones and expand our horizons. Many new works...

Get a free magazine

Join our mailing list for a free issue, the latest book releases, and grimdark discussions.