Browsing Tags

Queer

REVIEW: Running Close to the Wind by Alexandra Rowland

Alexandra Rowland delivers chaotic queer pirates with insanely high sex-drives, mystifying turtle astronomy, dangerous sea serpents in breeding season, loveable glowing dogs, and an absurd cake competition in Running Close to the Wind, an...

REVIEW: Bonded by Thorns by Elizabeth Helen

Bonded by Thorns is the debut fantasy romance novel by sister writing duo, Elizabeth Helen. Directly inspired by Beauty and the Beast, this retelling blends traditional fairy tale with a spicy reverse harem/why choose...

An Interview with Laura Purcell

Laura Purcell has made a name for herself in gothic fiction. I particularly enjoyed The Whispering Muse, a story set around a theatre where the plays come to life more than merely on stage....

REVIEW: A Botanical Daughter by Noah Medlock

A Botanical Daughter is the debut horror novel from writer Noah Medlock. A sort of cosy horror, I think Medlock’s tale will appeal to fans of T. Kingfisher and A.G. Slatter. I will say,...

REVIEW: The Thick and the Lean by Chana Porter

Chana Porter’s The Thick and the Lean is one of those rare stories that continue living in your brain rent-free long after the last page. This is slow, delicious literary SFF, a story about...

REVIEW: Venom & Vow by Anna-Marie McLemore and Elliot McLemore

I have long been a fan of Anna-Marie McLemore’s writing. Their work is haunting and lyrical, language as beautiful as the stories are impactful. In a bit of a change from their previous work,...

An Interview with Lee Mandelo

Lee Mandelo is the author of SUMMER SONS, FEED THEM SILENCE and the upcoming THE WOODS ALL BLACK. His work ranges across genres in speculative fiction and THE WOODS ALL BLACK especially skews to...

REVIEW: The Woods All Black by Lee Mandelo

I fell in love with Lee Mandelo’s writing when I read his debut, Summer Sons. Now he’s back with queer, atmospheric The Woods All Black. This is a slim novella, but it doesn’t hold...

REVIEW: Redsight by Meredith Mooring

All Korinna wants to do is stay alive. And live in peace. But she’s a Redseer, a blind priestess with the power to manipulate space and time. In the hostile world of Meredith Mooring’s...

The Principle of Moments

REVIEW: The Principle of Moments by Esmie Jikiemi-Pearson

The Principle of Moments, the exuberant debut novel by Esmie Jikiemi-Pearson, is a time-traveling space opera and a homage to Regency-era romances. Esmie Jikiemi-Pearson fully embraces the Chosen One trope, using it to great...

Get grit in your inbox

Stay on top of all the latest book releases and discussions—join our mailing list.