Browsing Tags

self-published

REVIEW: Those Left Behind by N.C. Scrimgeour

N.C. Scrimgeour’s debut series, The Waystations Trilogy, is billed as ‘perfect for fans of Mass Effect, The Expanse and Star Wars’ and the first instalment, Those Left Behind is an excellent introduction to this...

Exclusive Cover Reveal: Buzzard’s Bowl by John Palladino

Today we have a special treat for Grimdark Magazine readers: an exclusive cover reveal for Buzzard’s Bowl by John Palladino, the second book in his Tragedy of Cedain series and the follow-up to his...

Arvekt by Craig Lea Gordon

Another Eight Indie Cyberpunk Novel Recommendations

Cyberpunk as a genre arguably hit its heyday during the Eighties as a cultural force with Neuromancer and reached its zentih in social acceptance in the Nineties with The Matrix movies. After that, it...

REVIEW: The Sword of Mercy and Wrath by NC Koussis

The Sword of Mercy and Wrath is the debut grimdark fantasy by NC Koussis, a blood-soaked tale of losing one’s identity in the monomaniacal pursuit of revenge. The book opens with a standard fantasy...

REVIEW: The Trials of Ashmount by John Palladino

The Trials of Ashmount is the debut grimdark fantasy from John Palladino and the first volume in his Tragedy of Cedain series. In creating this complex world, brimming with nefarious characters, political backstabbing, and...

REVIEW: Assassin by Andy Peloquin

Assassin by Andy Peloquin is the revised version of Darkblade Assassin, which was a indie dark fantasy novel released in 2018. This new version of the book is half-again in size of the original...

5 Things to Look Forward to in Mike Shel’s Idols Fall

Mike Shel’s dark fantasy Iconoclasts series has been filling readers with dread since Aching God crept onto the scene in 2018 and earned a top-ten finalist spot in the prestigious Self-Published Fantasy Blog-Off. Combining...

The GdM team pick their favourite self-published fantasy books

Readers that follow our page will be aware that the Grimdark Magazine review team are big supporters of self-published fantasy works. As it’s Self-Published Fantasy Month we decided to put together a list of...

REVIEW: The Lessons Never Learned by Rob J. Hayes

The Lessons Never Learned is Book Two of the War Eternal trilogy, that began with the fantastic Along the Razor’s Edge. “Opinions are like children. Those who have them want them to be special,...

REVIEW: They Mostly Come Out at Night by Benedict Patrick

Reading They Mostly Come Out at Night was my fourth time venturing into Patrick’s enchanting, fantastical and haunting Yarnsworld. His stories are as enriching as they are captivating with stunning imagery, likeable lead characters...

Get grit in your inbox

Stay on top of all the latest book releases and discussions—join our mailing list.