Browsing Tags

space opera

An Interview with Seth Dickinson

Seth Dickinson first astounded (and broke the hearts of) readers when they burst onto the scene with their 2015 debut novel, The Traitor Baru Cormorant, a fiery and unapologetic look at imperialism, rebellion and the...

The Principle of Moments

REVIEW: The Principle of Moments by Esmie Jikiemi-Pearson

The Principle of Moments, the exuberant debut novel by Esmie Jikiemi-Pearson, is a time-traveling space opera and a homage to Regency-era romances. Esmie Jikiemi-Pearson fully embraces the Chosen One trope, using it to great...

REVIEW: Exordia by Seth Dickinson

Exordia—Seth Dickinson’s latest offering to the SF/F gods—begins not with a bang, or a whimper. Instead, it begins with a Michael Crichton quote. “The most likely consequence of contact is absolute terror.” Once you...

Header scene for review of Rebel Moon: Part One - Child of Fire

REVIEW: Rebel Moon: Part One – A Child of Fire

In Rebel Moon: Part One – A Child of Fire, a mysterious farmer with a dark past has settled in a small frontier village. Kora is as happy as somebody like her can be,...

Review: Galactic Vice by Jake Bible

Galactic Vice by Jake Bible is a standalone police procedural in Space that isn’t quitecyberpunk, isn’t quite science fiction noir, and isn’t quite space opera but blends elements of all three. If I were...

REVIEW: Space Punks by Anna Mocikat

Space Punks by Anna Mocikat is a book I’ve been looking forward to for some time. It is a cyberpunk-space opera hybrid that is a bit akin Cowboy Bebop or Outlaw Star if you...

REVIEW: Those Left Behind by N.C. Scrimgeour

N.C. Scrimgeour’s debut series, The Waystations Trilogy, is billed as ‘perfect for fans of Mass Effect, The Expanse and Star Wars’ and the first instalment, Those Left Behind is an excellent introduction to this...

REVIEW: The Strange by Nathan Ballingrud

The Strange by Nathan Ballingrud is science fiction, but science fiction of the retro kind, a wistful homage to the outlandish bygone tales of a Mars with a breathable atmosphere, stiff and clanking robots,...

REVIEW: Fractal Noise by Christopher Paolini

Fractal Noise is the second book within Christopher Paolini’s Fractalverse, serving as a prequel to 2020’s To Sleep in a Sea of Stars. You don’t need to have read the first book to understand...

REVIEW: Return of the Griffin by JCM Berne

JCM Berne brings his superhero space opera down to Earth in Return of the Griffin, the second installment in his Hybrid Helix trilogy. As the hybrid son of a human mother and alien il’Drach...